Independent Candidates

Mary Davis

Davis announced in late May that she would seek the nomination to run for president and received support from six county councils.

The Mayo native is best known for serving as CEO to the Special Olympics when it was held in Ireland in 2003.In November 2004 outgoing Irish president Mary McAleese appointed Davis to the council of state.



 Sean Gallagher

Monaghan native Sean Gallagher threw his hat into the presidential race , seeking  the required nominations from county councils from 13th June onwards.  

Sean is a former member of the Fianna Fàil national executive yet is best known for his time on RTE`s hit show Dragons Den.




David Norris

Norris is a leading gay and human rights activist, a scholar and independent senator.

He was first elected to the Seanad in 1987 and has remained their since. He has re-entered the presidential race following his withdrawal over a scandal relating to an ex lover of his. Should Norris be elected he will become the first openly gay figure head of a state.  




Dana Rosemary Scallon

Dana Rosemary Scallon is well known across many circles, having won the Eurovision for Ireland and also serving as a Member of the European Parliament (MEP).

The Derry native has stood for president on two previous occasions but failed to be elected. She has thrown her hat into the ring for a third time and is aiming to lead Ireland into a new era.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: